Drought Early Warning System

Early warning systems are established at woreda (district), zonal (province), regional, and central levels. The apex body of these systems is National Committee for Early Warning that comprises representatives of the following agencies: Disaster Prevention and Preparedness Commission (DPPC), nodal officers of Ministry of Agriculture (MoA), Ministry of Health (MoH), Central Statistical Authority (CSA), Ethiopian Mapping Authority (EMA), and NMSA. The head of the Early Warning Department of DPPC serves as member/secretary. The responsibility of the committee is to coordinate the collection of information and data pertaining to weather, crops, food and nutrition status, market trends, livestock conditions, and so on, and to provide periodic information about the occurrence of disaster conditions, scale of their impact, and assessment of food availability in different parts of the country.

Was this article helpful?

0 0

Post a comment