International Association of Hydrological Sciences

The International Association of Hydrological Sciences (IAHS), an association involving all components of the hydrological cycle, was founded in 1922 in Rome as the International Section of Hydrology of the International Union of Geodesy and Geophysics (IUGG). It is now one of the seven autonomous bodies that together constitute the IUGG.

IAHS is the oldest learning society in the field of water. It aims to serve the needs of humanity through the promotion of hydrological science and the stimulation of its applications. It has approximately 3700 members, from 129 countries. Websites of IAHS are: and

The activities of IAHS include organizing scientific meetings (assemblies, symposia and workshops), producing and disseminating publications and carrying out research projects. Among the publications are the Hydrological Sciences Journal, a Newsletter and the Red Books series started in 1924 in which almost 300 titles have appeared, several of them related to groundwater.

IAHS has nine scientific commissions, including the International Commission on Groundwater (ICGW). The latter is active in:

• organizing international symposia such as ModelCARE and Groundwater Quality (GQ);

• collaboration with the American Geophysical Union (AGU), the International Association of Hydrogeologists (IAH) and the International Groundwater Modeling Centre (IGWMC);

• organizing working groups, often under UNESCO's IHP.

The relative importance of IAHS with regard to groundwater has undoubtedly declined somewhat after IAH came into being and achieved a strong position among hydrogeologists.

Was this article helpful?

0 0

Post a comment